If I were being superstitious, I would take the way I celebrated last New Year’s Eve as a bad omen for 2010. I welcomed the New Year quietly, nearly sulking. It was unlike the usual way that I celebrate New Year’s Eve. This time it was different. I was being pessimistic.

With the financial crisis befalling us in 2009, I didn’t think that 2010 was going be any better. At best, it would be the same, with economists providing forecasts of a little to moderate improvements in the world economy. At work, I know that this year’s budget would be tighter, salary increases would be conservative, and travels will be limited.  I was bracing myself for the worst to come.

But 11 months into the New Year and I would have to say that the pessimistic me knew nothing of what was to come.  In retrospect, I think that 2010 has proven to be one of my best years. Well, I was not wrong about budget being tight and salary increases being moderate but there are other things that happened this year that I did not anticipate, both professionally and personally.

This year marks my 10th year in the company. Ten years sounds like a long time, but time really does fly fast when you’re having fun. To me, Thomson Reuters is indeed the best place to work. I have been with six other companies before joining Thomson Reuters in 2000 and there is nothing quite like Thomson Reuters.  It is the only company I know that puts so much value to its employees. When I got the plaque and the wonderful Charriol bracelet during the Service Awards ceremony, I couldn’t be any prouder.  

And this is the year when I get to visit six countries in a span of 4 months – China, Sweden, Poland, Czech Republic, Germany and France. Half of it was business trips and the rest was all fun. St. Augustine said that the world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.  Indeed, there is nothing like immersing yourself into a totally different world, only to come back on your own with much added wisdom.

Another proud moment is closing down a project which has been in the making for two years. Economics Point in Time was delivered to clients in November 2010 bringing valuable edge to the offering of Datastream. I think I have to right to shed a few tears after seeing the final presentation deck for the clients’ launch.

On a more personal note, this year brings me many wonderful gifts that are totally unexpected. Paramount to that is knowing that I am expecting our second child. Out of the many good things that happened in 2010, this by far tops it all. This little one brings me optimism.

With all these blessings, I think I will go back to my old way of celebrating the New Year’s and welcome 2011 with a bam!