At the end of the day it’s all about priorities; it’s about setting and keeping them. – LM

As I stared into the monitor, and fixed my eyes on the moving cursor consuming over me, I started reminiscing and asked myself, “What exactly did year twenty ten bring about to me?”; as simple as this question may sound, it actually consumed most of my brain cells pondering on the right answer. The difficulty was not because twenty ten was a blank sheet of paper but more of a roll of scribbled experiences put together by different contributors.  

In an instant all the stories, adventures, and memories flustered and now I am overwhelmed on where I should start. I could write down all the specific moments that have happened to me throughout this year, but would it really answer the question, “What’s the best thing that 2010 has given you?”

I started 2010 with no expectations, no specific goal, and no direction. As the free spirited person that I am, I rely on my daily impulses and gut feels when I make decisions. I guess it’s just part of my system that I don’t dwell on what the future will bring about to me. Apparently, there are times that the inconsistencies and fluctuations get boring and that major change is clamoring to get out of me. Aside from the tangible objects, countless travels and adventures, variety of food trips, diversity of culture, what really stood out amongst all is the simplest and unnoticeable. I am proud to say that I have acquired many friends and made relationships this year, but the best one is the gift of real friendship. I can collect as many friends that I want to, but only few stand out from the crowd; the ones that I can look stupid with, shout with and hug afterwards, cry on their shoulders and wipe it on their shirts, the ones who will tell me what is wrong with me right on my face and not bash me at my back.

As years gone by, I can truly say that year TWENTY TEN became a roller coaster of emotions for me. It is this year that I started becoming independent, started living up to higher expectations both from home and work, and most of all the biggest impact that this year blasted me with is the value of maturity and contentment. Sometimes, we ask so much from others and ourselves that we see beyond the simplest blessings. Despite all that has happened in my life this year, I know I became a better person, I grew stronger and wiser, and most of all I became closer to living my life the way I really want to.

In life, it all just boils down to starting to know who we really are deep down, and from there we can start appreciating and accepting others. In the end, it will go back to what I just said in the start; that –