I got jinxed

The Not

 

I am not the deep and tranquil sea

I’m the sailor man above it

spitting on the foam-surfaced sea

As I take a short break from my

glorious, glorious humming

And made you stare at the abyss

that is my decade-old eye patch

I’m not the wolf in sheep’s clothing

I’m the tailor-girl who’s sewn it

licking the thread and holding the needle

listening and shaking my head

left to right, left to right

As Elvis crooned and moaned on

my bronze radio

Thy voice is not like an angel’s

It sounds more like your conscience

Monotonous yet surprisingly high-pitched

Persuading you to look back and forward

Intermittently, intermittently

As it echoes into your

Unwilling self

I am the not

To your every uh-huh

And I will be me

Oh yes – siree

You better believe it

I will be me